Scientific Name: Papio

Group: Monkeys

Colour: Olive, Yellow, Grey, Silver, Brown, Black

Life Span: 15 - 40 years

Location: Africa and Western Arabia

Predator: Lion, Leopard, African Wild Dog

Prey: Fruits, Seeds, Insects

Other Name(s): Olive Baboon, Yellow Baboon, Guinea Baboon, Chacma Baboon, Hamadryas Baboon

Size (H): 50cm - 86cm (20in - 34in)

Weight: 14kg - 45kg (30lbs - 100lbs)

Top Speed: 45kph (30mph)

Habitat: Grassland, rocky desert and rainforest

Fun Fact: Can travel more than four miles a day!

Baboon Classification and Evolution
The Baboon is a medium to large sized species of Old World Monkey that is found in a variety of different habitats throughout Africa and in parts of Arabia. There are five different species of Baboon which are the Olive Baboon, the Guinea Baboon, the Chacma Baboon, the Yellow Baboon and the Hamadryas Baboon which differs most from the others wide it's bright red face and cliff-dwelling lifestyle (the other four species are collectively known as Savanna Baboons). However, there is some debate over the classification of the different species due to the fact that some have been known to interbreed, indicating that they could be sub-species instead. Baboons are incredibly sociable and intelligent animals that are known to form close bonds with other members of the troop that often last for life. They are also incredibly adaptable animals but their population numbers are declining throughout their natural range primarily due to hunting and habitat loss.

Share this post